Site Slogan

What can we help you with today?

CCM and its sustainability task force partners with ECSU to present best practices in sustainability efforts in CT

CCM and its sustainability task force partners with ECSU to present best practices in sustainability efforts in CT

The Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM) today (Wednesday, August 3, 2016), in conjunction with the Institute for Sustainable Energy at Eastern Connecticut State University, is releasing a new public-policy toolkit for local and state leaders on “Sustainable Communities.”

The publication highlights innovative practices by towns and cities in this important arena across the State and in our regions that improve the quality of life for our citizens and at the same time provide municipal services more efficiently and save residential and business property taxpayers money.

The 38-page report covers such critical sustainability issues as Sustainability Planning, Energy Efficiency, Local Foods, Land Use and Transportation, Materials Management, Resilience and Climate Adaptation, Clean Energy Generation, and Municipal Initiatives Outside of Connecticut

The reports highlights nearly 30 current best practices across these areas from communities of all sizes from every region of the state.

“This toolkit marks the beginning of a new CCM commitment to working more actively with towns and cities to help municipal leaders advance sustainability efforts” said Joe DeLong, CCM Executive Director. “Sustainability, in practice, reflects the intersection of three areas of concern for local governments: economy, environment, and the inclusion of social concerns. While acknowledging the basic definition as well as the triple bottom line, local governments must also determine what sustainability means to the citizens of their community.”

CCM's new task force on sustainability back to top

Charged with strategy development is CCM’s new task force on sustainability which will serve to provide a blueprint for sustainable projects in Connecticut communities.

A goal of the Task Force is to provide communities with the ability to exchange information and materials necessary to develop environmentally sustainable projects that simultaneously reduce cost and the property tax burden of Connecticut residents.

“It is critical that Connecticut’s towns and cities continue to develop sustainable policies to help communities develop environmentally-friendly projects that benefit Connecticut residents as a whole,” noted Betsy Paterson, Chair of CCM’s task Force on Sustainability.

The Task Force will act as a leader on sustainable policy issues and invest in efforts to enhance a green economy, leading to the creation of green jobs. The Task Force partners with universities, nonprofits, and others to gain expertise on reducing negative impacts on ecosystem vitality.

Connecticut towns and cities whose sustainability efforts are highlighted in the report include: Beacon Falls, Bethel, Bridgeport, Bridgewater, Columbia, East Hartford, Enfield, Guilford, Hartford, Mansfield, Meriden, Milford, New Britain, New London, Norwich, Old Saybrook, Putnam, Seymour, Stamford, Suffield, West Hartford, and Westport.