Site Slogan

What can we help you with today?

First Selectman of North Haven Elected To Lead Connecticut Towns And Cities In 2020 As CCM President

First Selectman of North Haven Elected To Lead Connecticut Towns And Cities In 2020 As CCM President

For Immediate Release

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Kevin Maloney 203-710-3486

Michael Freda, entering his sixth term as First Selectman of North Haven, has been elected President of the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM) for 2020. 

His election took place at the 2019 statewide convention of CCM on December 3 and 4 at the Foxwoods Report; and he will begin his year-long tenure as CCM President beginning Jan. 1.  

Freda served as CCM 1st Vice President in 2019. Advancing the state-local partnership, Freda has been a leader in the South Central region of Connecticut in promoting community building, bringing new businesses into North Haven and helping to improve the overall quality of life in Connecticut. He also has been a leading player for CCM members in helping to push state legislative action on local revenue diversification, cost containment efforts through mandates relief, and greater regional service sharing among towns.

“2020 will represent another important year in the collaborative relationship between Connecticut local governments and its state leaders,” said Joe DeLong, CCM Executive Director. “CCM is very fortunate to have such an experienced first selectman to lead our 169 member communities in 2020. He is well-respected on both sides of the political aisle at both the state and local levels and will play a key role in forging consensus on important state-local issues during the 2020 General Assembly session.

"We look forward to First Selectman Freda leading CCM as we work closely with Governor Lamont and the General Assembly to enact the key state-local legislation needed for property tax paying residents and businesses across Connecticut,” DeLong noted  

Here are CCM’s other officers for 2019:

1st Vice President — Luke A. Bronin, Mayor of Hartford

2nd Vice President — Jayme J. Stevenson, First Selectman of Darien

Newly elected members of the CCM board are:

Elinor Carbone, Mayor of Torrington

Thomas Dunn, Mayor of Wolcott

Justin Elicker, Mayor of New Haven

Laura Francis, First Selectman of Durham

Matthew Hoey, First Selectman of Guilford

Laura Hoydick, Mayor of Stratford

Michael Passero, Mayor of New London


Re-elected to CCMboard back to top

Municipal leaders who were re-elected to the board are:

John A. Elsesser, Town Manager of Coventry

Joseph P. Ganim, Mayor of Bridgeport

Barbara M. Henry, First Selectman of Roxbury

Catherine Iino, First Selectwoman of Killingworth

Matthew S. Knickerbocker, First Selectman of Bethel

Marcia A. Leclerc, Mayor of East Hartford

Curt Leng, Mayor of Hamden

W. Kurt Miller, First Selectman of Seymour

Rudolph P. Marconi, First Selectman of Ridgefield

Brandon Robertson, Town Manager of Avon

John Salomone, Town Manager of Norwich

Scott Shanley, General Manager of Manchester

Erin E. Stewart, Mayor of New Britain

Mark B. Walter, Town Administrator of Columbia

Past Presidents

Neil O’Leary, Mayor of Waterbury

Susan S. Bransfield, First Selectwoman of Portland

Mark D. Boughton, Mayor of Danbury

Herbert C. Rosenthal, Former First Selectman of Newtown

Honorary Members

Leo Paul, Former First Selectman of Litchfield


CCM was founded in 1966 and today is the state’s largest, nonpartisan organization of municipal leaders, representing towns and cities of all sizes from all corners of the state, with 169 member municipalities.

We come together for one common mission — to improve everyday life for every resident of Connecticut. We share best practices and objective research to help our local leaders govern wisely. We advocate at the state level for issues affecting local taxpayers. And we pool our buying power to negotiate more cost-effective services for our communities.

CCM is governed by a board of directors that is elected by the member municipalities. Our board represents municipalities of all sizes, leaders of different political parties and towns/cities across the state. Our board members also serve on a variety of committees that participate in the development of CCM policy and programs.

Federal representation is provided by CCM in conjunction with the National League of Cities.