Site Slogan

What can we help you with today?

Mayor of Waterbury Re-Elected To Lead Connecticut Towns And Cities in 2019 as CCM President

Mayor of Waterbury Re-Elected To Lead Connecticut Towns And Cities in 2019 as CCM President

For Immediate Release
Kevin Maloney (203) 710-3487 

Neil O’Leary, long-time mayor of Waterbury, has been re-elected President of the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM) for 2019. 

Mayor O’Leary served as CCM President in 2018, and as CCM’s 1st Vice President in 2017. Advancing the state-local partnership, community building, economic development, and improving the overall quality of life in his city have been key to O’Leary’s success in Waterbury. He also has been a leading player for CCM members in helping to push state legislative action on local revenue diversification, cost containment efforts through mandates relief, and greater regional service sharing among towns.

“2019 will represent another crucial crossroads in the relationship between Connecticut local governments and its state leaders, with Governor-elect Lamont and many new state legislators” said Joe DeLong, CCM Executive Director. “CCM is very fortunate to have such an experienced mayor to lead our 168 member communities in 2019. He is well-respected on both sides of the political aisle at both the state and local levels and will play a key role in forging consensus on important state-local issues during the 2019 General Assembly session. We look forward to Mayor O’Leary again leading CCM as we work closely with Governor-elect Lamont and the General Assembly to enact the key state-local legislation needed for residents and business across Connecticut.”  

Here are CCM’s other officers for 2019:

1st Vice President, Michael J. Freda, First Selectman of North Haven
2nd Vice President, Luke A. Bronin, Mayor of Hartford

There is one new member of the Board of Directors for 2019:

Brandon Robertson, Town Manager of Avon

Also serving back to top

Also serving again on the Board of Directors in 2019 are:

Tom Banisch, First Selectman of Madison

Robert M. Congdon, First Selectman of Preston

John A. Elsesser, Town Manager of Coventry

Joseph P. Ganim, Mayor of Bridgeport

Toni N. Harp, Mayor of New Haven

Barbara M. Henry, First Selectman of Roxbury

Catherine Iino, First Selectwoman of Killingworth

John Salomone, City Manager of Norwich

Marcia A. Leclerc, Mayor of East Hartford

Curt B. Leng, Mayor of Hamden

W. Kurt Miller, First Selectman of Seymour

Rudolph P. Marconi, First Selectman of Ridgefield

Leo Paul, First Selectman of Litchfield

Matthew S. Knickerbocker, First Selectman of Bethel

Scott Shanley, General Manager of Manchester

Jayme J. Stevenson, First Selectman of Darien

Erin E. Stewart, Mayor of New Britain

Daniel D. Syme, First Selectman of Scotland

Michael C. Tetreau, First Selectman of Fairfield

Mark B. Walter, Town Administrator of Columbia

Past presidents continue to serve on the CCM Board. They are:

Susan S. Bransfield, First Selectwoman of Portland
Mark D. Boughton, Mayor of Danbury
Matthew B. Galligan, Town Manager of South Windsor
Herbert C. Rosenthal, Former First Selectman of Newtown

CCM is the state’s largest, nonpartisan organization of municipal leaders, representing towns and cities of all sizes from all corners of the state, with 168 of Connecticut’s 169 municipalities as members.

We come together for one common mission, to improve everyday life for every resident of Connecticut. We share best practices and objective research to help our local leaders govern wisely. We advocate at the state and federal level for issues affecting property taxpayers. And we pool our buying power to negotiate more cost-effective services for our communities.

CCM is governed by a board of directors that is elected by the member municipalities. Our board represents municipalities of all sizes, leaders of different political parties, and towns/cities across the state. Our board members also serve on a variety of committees that participate in the development of CCM policy and programs.

Federal representation is provided by CCM in conjunction with the National League of Cities. CCM was founded in 1966 and is marking its 53rd year of service to Connecticut towns and cities in 2019.