Please Wait a Moment
Veteran Wolcott Mayor Tom Dunn elected to lead Connecticut towns and cities in 2023 as CCM President

Veteran Wolcott Mayor Tom Dunn elected to lead Connecticut towns and cities in 2023 as CCM President

Source: Kevin Maloney, CCM

For Immediate Release
Kevin Maloney (203) 710-3486

Veteran Wolcott Mayor Tom Dunn elected to lead Connecticut towns and cities in 2023 as CCM President

Thomas Dunn, the 10-term, unaffiliated Mayor of Wolcott, has been elected President of the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM) for 2023.  

His election took place at the 2022 statewide convention of CCM on November 1 and 2 at the Mohegan Sun Resort; and he will begin his year-long tenure as CCM President beginning January 1.  

Laura Hoydick, Mayor of Stratford was elevated to 1st Vice President as an officer of CCM, and Michael Passero, Mayor of New London, became a CCM officer as CCM’s 2nd Vice President. 22 municipal leaders were re-elected to the CCM board. See below for complete list. 

Dunn served as CCM 1st Vice President in 2022.  He has been a leading player for CCM in helping to push state legislative action on local revenue diversification, cost containment efforts through mandates relief, and greater regional service sharing among towns. 

Two other municipal CEOs are newly elected to the CCM Board.

“2023 will represent another crucial crossroads in the relationship between Connecticut local governments and its state leaders,” said Joe DeLong, CCM Executive Director. “CCM is very fortunate to have such an experienced mayor to lead our 168 member communities in 2023. He is well-respected on both sides of the political aisle at both the state and local levels and will play a key role in forging consensus on important state-local issues during the 2023 General Assembly session. 

“I look forward to leading CCM as we work closely with Governor Lamont and the General Assembly to enact the key state-local legislation needed for property tax paying residents and businesses across Connecticut; as our state continues to forge a roadway to greater economic prosperity and safer public health as we continue our effective, vigilant monitoring and response to any surge from new variants of the COVID-19 virus,” said Dunn.  

Here is CCM’s Board of Directors for 2023:

President -- Thomas Dunn, Mayor of Wolcott
1st Vice President -- Laura Hoydick, Mayor of Stratford
2nd Vice President – Michael Passero, Mayor of New London 

Newly-Elected Directors
Jeff Caggiano, Mayor of Bristol
Michael Rell, Mayor of Wethersfield 

Re-Elected Directors
Jason Bowsza, First Selectman of East Windsor
Mary Calorio, Town Manager of Killingly
Fred Camillo, First Selectman of Greenwich 
Elinor Carbone, Mayor of Torrington
Paula Cofrancesco, First Selectman of Bethany 
Justin Elicker, Mayor of New Haven 
John A. Elsesser, Town Manager of Coventry 
Carl P. Fortuna, Jr., First Selectman of Old Saybrook 
Laura Francis, First Selectman of Durham 
Joseph P. Ganim, Mayor of Bridgeport 
Matthew Hoey, First Selectman of Guilford 
Matthew S. Knickerbocker, First Selectman of Bethel 
Rudolph P. Marconi, First Selectman of Ridgefield 
W. Kurt Miller, Chief Fiscal Officer, Ansonia 
Edmond V. Mone, First Selectman of Thomaston
Maureen Nicholson, First Selectman of Pomfret 
Caroline Simmons, Mayor of Stamford
Gerard Smith, First Selectman of Beacon Falls
Brandon Robertson, Town Manager of Avon 
John L. Salomone, City Manager, Norwich 
Erin E. Stewart, Mayor of New Britain 
Mark B. Walter, Town Administrator of Columbia 

Past Presidents (who continue to serve on the board)
Luke Bronin, Mayor of Hartford
Michael Freda, First Selectman of North Haven
Neil O’Leary, Mayor of Waterbury
Herbert C. Rosenthal, Former First Selectman of Newtown